Welcome Pranav

Pranav Audhkhasi has just joined the department of Geoscience and Petroleum at NTNU as a post-doctoral research fellow in the BRU21 program. He will be working with Ass. Prof. Kenneth Duffaut and the industrial partner, Wintershall DEA, focusing towards machine learning techniques for seismic lithology prediction. Within the BRU21 program, Pranav’s project, “Automated facies classification through applying machine-learning to pre-stack seismic data” is organized within the Exploration Efficiency program area where he will be developing automated workflows to efficiently detect and classify seismic features within large seismic datasets.

Prior to joining NTNU, Pranav did his PhD from from Institut de Physique du Globe de Paris (IPGP), France, in Marine Geosciences and specializing in active source seismic imaging and tomography techniques. Before that, he did a research masters from IPGP itself and an Integrated masters from Indian Institute of Technology (IIT-ISM) Dhanbad, India, in exploration geophysics.

Welcome, Pranav!

Drillbotics ranked as #1

The NTNU Drillbotics team supervised by BRU21 goes to the finals and is ranked #1 after evaluation of reports for Phase 1 of the 2021-2022 competition!

Luis and Mikael are happy to be top ranked

Drillbotics is an international competition between universities organized by the Society of Petroleum Engineers (SPE). The challenge is to design, build and successfully implement a fully functional drilling rig at lab scale in order to perform fully autonomous directional drilling through a rock sample. The aim of the competition is to promote the application of digital solutions and autonomous systems into drilling operations.  This will bring innovation and technology development from the academy which can be applied at an industrial scale

The Dream Team: Jarle Ness, Mikaela Solberg, Henrik Helgeland and Luis Alvarez

Final tests will be held in May and June of 2022 in Houston and Celle. The Team consist of Mikaela Solberg, Luis Alvarez, Jarle Ness and Henrik Helgeland. Congratulations!

Read more about Drillbotics here