Carlos Alberto Aizprua Luna defended his PhD thesis

Carlos Alberto Aizprua Luna has successfully defended his PhD thesis at the Department of Geoscience and Petroleum. The title of the academic thesis was: «Forearc crustal structure and controlling factors on basin formation across the southernmost Northern Andes»

The assessment committee consisted of Professor Atle Rotevatn, University of Bergen, Norway, Professor Christine Authemayou, University Occidentale de Bretagne, France, Dr. Atsushi Noda, Geological Survey of Japan, Senior Geophysicist Fausto Ferraccioli, British Antarctic Survey, UK, Professor Nicolas Tribovillard, University of Lille, France, Professor Børge Arntsen, NTNU, Norway

Professor Børge Arntsen and Professor Nicolas Tribovillard was Administrators of the Committee.

Professor Ståle Emile Johansen, Department of Geoscience and Petroleum, has been the candidate’s main supervisor. Professor Jean-Yves Reynard, University of Lille, has been the candidate’s co-supervisor.

Congratulations, Carlos!

Maxime F. Lesage defended his thesis for the PhD degree

Maxime F. Lesage has defended his thesis for the PhD degree. The title of the academic thesis was: «A framework for evaluating deep sea mining systems for seafloor massive sulphides deposits».  The Assesment Commitee consisted of Professor Elisabeth Clausen, RWTH Aachen University, Germany, Senior Researcher Rüdiger Ulrich Franz von Bock und Polach, Technische Universität Hamburg, Germany and Professor Tor Berge Gjersvik. Professor Tor Berge Gjersvik has been the Administrator of the Committee. Associate Professor Steinar Løve Ellefmo, Department of Geoscience and Petroleum, has been the candidate’s main supervisor. Professor Stein Ove Erikstad, Department of Marine Technology, has been the candidate’s co-supervisor.

Congratulations, Maxime!

Veena Sajith Vezhapparambu har disputert

Hennes avhandling har tittelen «Statistical Analysis of MWD Data in a Geometallurgical Perspective: A case study on an industrial mineral deposit». Bedømmingskomiteen har bestått av Professor Rai Priyush, Banaras Hindu University, India, forsker Ivan Depina, SINTEF og førsteamanuensis Sigve Hovda, NTNUPrøvforelesningen hadde tittelen “MWD in Mining Engineering – Possibilities, challenges and future perspectives”. Hovedveileder har vært førsteamanuensis Steinar Løve Ellefmo, Institutt for geovitenskap og petroleum og medveileder professor Jo Eidsvik, Institutt for matematiske fag, begge NTNU.

Cyril Jérôme Juliani har disputert

Hans avhandling har tittelen «Assessment of Undiscovered Mineral Resource Potential at the Northern Mid-Atlantic Ridge (MAR) and on the Norwegian Mainland: Method development and applications». Bedømmingskomiteen har bestått av Dr Donald Singer, University of Queensland, Dr Sven Petersen, GEOMAR og professor Rune Berg-Edland Larsen, NTNU. Prøveforelesningen hadde tittelen “Probability of discovering off axis deposits along detachment faults, what can be learned from onshore fault bounded sulphide deposits?”. Hovedveileder har vært førsteamanuensis Steinar Løve Ellefmo og medveileder , professor Rune Berg-Edland Larsen, begge IGP.

Defence of Thesis: Solveig Vassenden

Friday April, Solveig Vassenden defended her thesis. Vassenden has submitted the following academic thesis as a part of the doctoral work at The Norwegian University of Science and Technology (NTNU), Department of geoscience and Petroleum «Rock Breaking under Rolling TBM Disc Cutters in Hard Rock Conditions – Visualization and documentation of cracks»

The Faculty had appointed the following Assessment Committee to assess the thesis:

  • Professor Robert Galler, Montanuniversität Leoben, Austria (1.opponent)
  • Director Guro Grøneng, Norwegian Geotechnical Institute (2.opponent)
  • Professor II Roger Olsson, NTNU

Professor II Roger Olsson, Department of Geoscience and Petroleum, was the Administrator of the Committee.

The Committee recommended that the thesis is worthy of being publicly defended for the PhD degree.

The doctoral work has been carried out at the Department of Geoscience and Petroleum.

The trial lecture took place on April 5th 2019 at Hovedbygget, Gløshaugen on the following prescribed subject:

“Selection criteria for conventional tunneling”

The public defence of the thesis took place on April 5th 2019 atHovedbygget, Gløshaugen.

Professor Eivind Grøv, Department of Geoscience and Petroleum, has been the candidate’s main supervisor. Professor Charlie Chunlin Li, Department of Geoscience and Petroleum has been the candidate’s co-supervisor.

Chhatra Bahadur Basnet har disputert

Hans avhandling har tittelen «Applicability of Unlined/Shotcrete Lined Pressure Tunnels for Hydropower Projects in the Himalaya». Bedømmingskomiteen har bestått av: professor Jonny Sjøberg, Luleå University of Technology, professor Rajinder Kumar Bhasin, NGI og førsteamanuensis Randi Kalskin Ramstad, IGP, NTNU. Prøveforelesningen hadde tittelen “Stress measurements in rock – recent developments, pros and cons, and future directions”. Veileder har vært professor Krishna Panthi, IGP, NTNU.

Liyuan Chi har disputert

Avhandlingens tittel er «Shock Compression and Fractures in Laboratory Rock Blasting». Bedømmingskomiteen har bestått av Professor Jose A. Sanchidrian, Universidad Politecnica de Madrid, Regional Manager Vegard Olsen, Franzefoss Pukk AS og førsteamanuensis Pål Drevland Jakobsen, NTNU. Prøveforelesningens tittel var “Blasting technology and explosives industry in China – a comparison to Europe”. Professor Zongxian Zhang, University of Oulu, har vært kandidatens hovedveileder og Professor Charlie Chunlin Li, IGP og Professor Arne Aalberg, Universitetssenteret på Svalbard har vært medveiledere. Forskningen har vært utført ved Universitetssenteret på Svalbard.

Zeudia Pastore har disputert

Hennes avhandling har tittelen: «Geophysical Mapping of the Mafic and Ultramafic Rocks of the Seiland Igneous Province from the Kilometer to the Micrometer Scale». Bedømmingskomiteen har bestått av: Research Geophysicist Richard J. Blakely, U. S. Geological Survey, Professor Hans-Jürgen Götze, Kiel University (CAU) og førsteamanuensis II Marco Brönner, NTNU. Prøveforelesningens tittel var: “Gravity gradient data application in mineral exploration: benefit and limitations of this methodology”. Hovedveileder har vært professor Suzanne McEnroe og medveileder professor II Christine Fichler, begge IGP, NTNU.


Are Håvard Høien har disputert

Avhandlingen hans har tittelen «Applicability of Reinforced Ribs on Sprayed Concrete in Sections of Poor Quality and Swelling Rock Mass». Bedømmingskomiteen har bestått av Docent Åsa Fransson, Chalmers University of Technology, senior ingeniørgeolog Arild Palmstrøm, RockMass AS og professor Charlie Chunlin Li, IGP, NTNU. Prøveforelesningens tittel var «A comparison between grouting with OPC (ordinary cement) and micro cement – taking into consideration total costs (material and grouting time) and results». Hovedveileder har vært professor Bjørn Nilsen, IGP, NTNU og medveileder senioringeniør Roger Olsson, Norges geotekniske institutt.

Lucas Cantinelli Sevillano har disputert

Hans avhandling har tittelen «Effects of Well Temperature on Wellhead Fatigue Assessment». Bedømmingskomiteen har bestått av Professor Gerhard Thonhauser, University of Leoben, Adjunct Professor Lorents Reinås, University of Stavanger og  Professor Tor Berge Gjersvik, NTNU. Prøveforelesningen hadde tittelen “Design considerations of thermal loading effects on well constructions during production phase”. Hovedveileder har vært Professor Sigbjørn Sangesland, og medveiledere Professor Pål Skalle og Post doc Jesus De Andrade Correia, alle ved Institutt for geoscience og petroleum.