Professor Charlie Li has received Trondheim’s Door Opener Prize

During an event yesterday, Professor Charlie Li was awarded the Door Opener Prize by the mayor of Trondheim, see here. The prize is awarded to persons who market Trondheim and the region through cultural, sports and congressional events. Charlie received the prize because in 2018 he was behind the 3rd International Conference on Rock Dynamics and Applications (RocDyn) in Trondheim with 170 participants from all over the world. And next year the very large conference Eurock 2020 with 700 participants be arranged in Trondheim and Norway for the very first time.

The Shell prize for graduate research is awarded to IGP student

During NGF’s Winter Conference on Tuesday, Eric James Ryan was awarded the Shell’s Geoprize. The award is a distinction and reward for graduate students or newly graduated geologists for the best oral presentation of their own major work at the Winter Conference. His supervisors have been Giulio Viola and Bjørn Eske Sørensen at IGP. Ryan is now a PhD fellow at the same department. See article at

NTNU students won 4 prizes under SEG conference

The annual SEG Conference was held in  Anaheim, California this year. A student group from the department participated in the student competition SEG Evolve:  Abdul Saboor Khan, Muhammad Umer Azam, Hieu Trong Nguyen, Patience Ankah and Ragil Destriawan Peaseytyo. They secured as much as 4 prizes in the competition, see photo series below.

Their supporters at the department were Ståle Johansen, Børge Arntsen and Dicky Haris Hidayat. Congratulations!

NTNU student receives award in Rome

NTNU student Mohamed Omran presented his paper “Enhancing Unconventional Reservoirs Characterization” under The 8th International Conference on Petroleum Engineering, Rome 15th-16th October, 2018. After the presentation he was presented with the Young Researcher Speaker Award and Certificate of Recognition by the Technical Committee. Congratulations! Advisors at IGP have been Erik Skogen and Ole Torsæter.

Bernt Aadnøy is named Oilman of the Year by SPE

Bernt Aadnøy is Adjunct Professor at Department of Geoscience and Petroleum at NTNU and holds a position as Professor of Petroleum Engineering at UiS. He was just named as Oilman of the Year by the Society of Petroleum Engineers Norway (SPE) for his contributions to education and technology development in Norway and internationally over the past 40 years. Congratulations!

SPE Awards to Ole Torsæter and Egil Tjåland

Society of Petroleum Engineers (SPE) has recognized two of our department colleagues with the awards “Society of Petroleum Engineers North Sea 2018 Regional Management and Information Award” to Professor Ole Torsæter and “Society of Petroleum Engineers North Sea 2018 Regional Distinguished Achievement Award for Petroleum Engineering Faculty Award” to Department Head Egil Tjåland. Congratulations to both!

Student group is qualified to the Petrobowl 2018 finals

A group of students in Petroleum Studies at NTNU participated in the regional (Europe and Russia) qualification held in Krakow, Poland April 9th-11th 2018, see report. The group is now qualified to participate in the finals held during the SPE Annual Technical Conference and Exhibition 2018 in Dallas, Texas 24th-26th September 2018. The group consists of Abdul Saboor Khan, Muhammad Umer Azam, Muhammad Iffan Hannanu, Subhi Sadigov, and Juan Manuel Montoza. Congratulations!

At the SPE meeting arranged at the department yesterday Vegard Røine Stenerud received the SPE Regional Service Award 2018. The award acknowledges exceptional contributions to the Society of Petroleum Engineers at the section or regional level and recognizes singular devotion of time and effort to the programs and development of the member’s section and region that set it apart from the services rendered each year by many members of the Society. Vegard has a PhD degree in mathematics from NTNU and is a principal researcher at Statoil within EOR.