Guest Lecture Oct. 18 @ 13:15: Geothermal Energy in Northern Climates

Guest lecture

Professor Maurice B. Dusseault, University of Waterloo, Canada (Biography), is visiting NTNU and SINTEF Petroleum Thursday and Friday this week, and will give the following lecture (Abstract):

Title: Geothermal Energy in Northern Climates

Time: Friday, October 18, at 13:15-14.

Place: Auditorium P12/P13 in PTS1 (S.P. Andersens veg 15a).

Maurice is a very knowledgeable and productive scientist, and an excellent lecturer. You don’t want to miss this one! 

Visit by petroleum students graduating in 1988

The Class of 88 in Petroleum Studies has been visiting UKA and the department every two years for a number of years. One of the driving forces for this is Torbjørn Hegdal, and this year the group consisted of 23 former students. On Saturday they visited the department and got an update on the developments at NTNU and the department since the last visit by Sigbjørn Sangesland and Jon Kleppe. Torbjørn Hegdal, NOV, Harald Erichsen, ABG Sundal Collier and Tore Gulbrandsøy, Rystad Energy gave presentations on energy development, stock market, future prospects, etc. followed by a brief debate.

Guest lecture on 20th September by Prof. Zoya Heidari from University of Texas Austin

We are pleased to announce a talk by Zoya Heidari from the University of Texas at Austin.

Title: Formation Evaluation and Rock Physics Model Development in Mixed-Wet Rocks

Time: Friday 20th September, 14.15-15.00

Place: P10, PTS1, Valgrinda.

Short bio:

Zoya Heidari is an associate professor at Hildebrand department of petroleum and geosystem engineering, University of Texas at Austin. She received a Ph.D. (2011) in petroleum engineering from The University of Texas at Austin. She was the founder and director of the Texas A&M Joint Industry Research Program on “Multi-Scale Formation Evaluation of Unconventional and Carbonate Reservoirs” from 2012 to 2015, and the University of Texas at Austin Industry Affiliated Research Program on “Multi-Scale Rock Physics” starting in 2016. She was also a recipient of the 2012 SPE Petroleum Engineering Junior Faculty Research Initiation Award, the 2014 TEES (Texas A&M Engineering Experiment Station) Select Young Faculty Fellows award from the College of Engineering at Texas A&M University, the 2015 SPE Innovative Teaching Award, and the 2016 SPE Regional Formation Evaluation award. Her research areas include petrophysics, borehole geophysics, rock physics, inverse problems, groundwater physics, completion petrophysics, and reservoir characterization of unconventional and carbonate reservoirs. She also leads a research team which develops new methods for reliable interpretation and integration of multi-scale formation data measured in the laboratory or in the subsurface in challenging formations such as organic-rich mudrocks and carbonate formations in order to enhanced reservoir characterization and production planning in both conventional and unconventional reservoirs.